Skip to main content

Toots Challenge

Toots Challenge

One of the greatest Belgian musicians of all time was born 100 years ago in Brussels. He conquered the international jazz scene and  left a great impression everywhere ... with his musicality, his inspiring and warm personality.

What does he mean today for musicians of different generations? Do the musicians who were born when he was already very old, or even no longer with us, still know him? We want to explore this by challenging them to work with his music and share their own interpretation with the widest possible audience!

Feeling challenged ?

Send your version/interpretation of a Toots song, or your own composition that you came up with as a tribute to this ‘ket’ (image + sound; maximum 3 min., mp4, short bio + motivation). Choose the language, instrument(s) and company you feel comfortable with.

We will show your entry in and through the MIM. Every week we will invite our visitors to choose a nominee. On 25 June 2022, the winners will present their version to a jury, which will reward the best with... a performance on a Brussels stage!

Participate!

Share your contribution with us before 20.06.2022 so that we can show it to the MIM visitors and they can vote for you to get your place in the final on 25 June 2022!

One address: mailto:info@mim.be. Please mention 'Toots Challenge' in the subject line. We would like to receive your file via a download link (wetransfer) in your email. Additional questions welcome at info@mim.be.

Good luck!

Aller au contenu principal

Toots Challenge

Toots Challenge

L'un des plus grands musiciens belges de tous les temps est né il y a 100 ans à Bruxelles. Il a voyagé et fait de la musique dans le monde entier et a laissé une grande impression partout... avec sa musicalité, sa personnalité inspirante et touchante.

Que représente-t-il aujourd'hui pour les musiciens des différentes générations ? Ceux qui sont nés alors qu'il était déjà très âgé, ou même quand il n’était plus parmi nous, le connaissent-ils encore ? Nous les invitons à le (re)découvrir en les mettant au défi de travailler avec sa musique et de partager leur propre interprétation auprès d’un public aussi large que possible !

Ça vous tente ?

Alors envoyez-nous votre version/interprétation d'un morceau de Toots, ou votre propre composition que vous avez imaginée en hommage à ce ket (image + son ; maximum 3 min., mp4, courte bio + motivation). Choisissez la langue, le ou les instruments et le groupe de musiciens avec lesquels vous vous sentez à l'aise.

Les vidéos seront diffusées hebdomadairement dans le musée à partir du 3 mai et les visiteurs pourront voter.  Le 25 juin 2022, les lauréat.e.s présenteront leur version à un jury, qui récompensera les meilleur.e.s par... une représentation sur une scène bruxelloise !

Participez!

Envoyez nous votre contribution avant le 20.06.2022 afin que nous puissions la montrer aux visiteurs du MIM et ils vous donneront une place pour la finale du 25 juin 2022 !

Veuillez indiquer Toots Challenge en objet et envoyer le tout via wetransfer à info@mim.be.

Pour toute question, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter !