PrintEnvoyez la page

Clavioline

électrophone

Le clavioline est un instrument de musique électronique monophonique. Considéré comme l'un des précurseurs du synthétiseur, il est inventé par l'ingénieur français Constant Martin (1910-1995).

Après ses études d'ingénieur, Martin se concentre sur le développement et la commercialisation de récepteurs radio. Il expérimente aussi les sons générés électroniquement. Ces expériences conduisent, au début des années 1940, à la construction de cloches et d'un orgue électroniques. Ceux-ci se feront entendre depuis la tour de l'hôtel de ville de Versailles lors de la libération en 1944.

La réalisation la plus importante de Martin est cependant le clavioline. Le 3 mai 1947, il dépose une demande de brevet auprès du Ministère de l'Industrie et du Commerce (France) pour un "instrument de musique électronique", alias le clavioline. Le brevet (n° 946.629), délivré le 27 décembre 1948, est publié le 9 juin 1949. Dès cette époque, la société Selmer est déjà un partenaire privilégié puisque le brevet montre l'image d'un clavier Selmer. Plus tard, Martin fera construire l'instrument par d'autres compagnies sous licence. Outre Selmer à Paris (Société Le Clavioline) et à Londres (Selmer London), des claviolines seront également fabriqués aux États-Unis (Gibson Standard Model), en Allemagne ("Bode Clavioline", "Tuttivox" et "Jorgenson Clavioline") et en Italie ("Ondiola") sur base du brevet Martin. Cette pratique fréquente à l'époque aidera l'instrument à acquérir de la popularité. En 1949, Martin construit également un prototype de "duophone clavioline", un instrument capable de jouer deux notes en même temps. Ce modèle ne sera cependant jamais commercialisé. 

Le clavioline se compose de deux parties (voir photo 1) : le clavier avec le générateur de son et le panneau de commande d'une part, l'amplificateur à lampe avec haut-parleur d'autre part. Ces deux parties sont reliées par un câble. Sous le clavier se trouve également une genouillère réglant le volume (voir photo 2), surnommée "l'âme du clavioline"  dans un catalogue de vente de Selmer London. À l'origine, le clavier du clavioline doit être fixé sous le clavier d'un piano (à queue). Le genou droit du musicien peut ainsi ajuster le volume (cfr. vidéo), mais les musiciens expérimentés maîtrisent tellement la technique qu'ils réussissent également à obtenir des effets staccato. Le clavioline peut aussi être fixé sur un pied, même si ce système n'est pas aussi stable dans toutes les marques.

Le clavier présente une série de 36 touches (3 octaves), de fa à mi'''. Une octave supplémentaire peut être ajoutée du côté de la basse et du disque, ce qui mène l'instrument à 5 octaves. Ceci est possible en déplaçant l'un des deux petits leviers situés sous la marque vers la gauche (basse) ou vers la droite (discant) (voir photo 3). Sur les côtés de l'instrument, des petits potentiomètres permettent un réglage fin de l'instrument (voir photo 4).

De face, l'instrument présente 18 boutons ('registre') (voir photo 2). 14 sont utilisés pour modifier le timbre. Ils sont numérotées de 1 à 9 et complétés par les 4 bobines filtrantes O, A, B et V, et P (Percussion/Attack).  Les 4 autres boutons (vibrato I-III et amplitude+) influencent le vibrato. L'illustration 5 présente un schéma proposé de Selmer pour l'imitation les timbres des instruments acoustiques les plus connus.

Le son de base (timbre) du clavioline, c'est-à-dire celui produit lorsque tous les boutons sont éteints - se présente graphiquement sous la forme d'une onde carrée (en réalité une onde trapézoïdale, ressemblant à une onde carrée). Le registre " trompette" est basé sur ce son, complété d'un vibrato additionnel (voir photo 5). Les autres sons/timbres s'appuient sur ce timbre de base, modifié par l'application d'un filtrage passe-haut et passe-bas. Mais ce qui rend le son du clavioline aussi unique et difficile à imiter sur les synthétiseurs contemporains est l'amplificateur. Selmer s'exprime comme suit à ce sujet : "L'amplificateur est d'un type inhabituel dans la mesure où une grande quantité de distorsion est délibérément obtenue. Cette distorsion est utilisée pour modifier davantage le signal et contribue dans une large mesure à la construction du son original. L'amplificateur fait donc partie intégrante de l'instrument".

Le mim possède deux claviolines, portant les numéros d'inventaire 1995.033 et 2018.0134. Le premier, présenté en salle, n'est pas jouable. Il fut construit par la Société Le Clavioline (Type CM, série 1, n° 768). Le second, acquis en 2018 (2018.0134) fut restauré par Daniel Kitzig. Il s'agit d'une clavioline Selmer Type A -'Auditorium' avec le numéro de série 450, fabriqué à Londres. Le modèle auditorium est le modèle standard du Selmer. Il sera suivi plus tard par le Concert Clavioline Selmer. Fin 1962, Selmer lance également un modèle de Concert Reverb. Malgré le petit plus de la réverbération, ce modèle ne rencontrera que peu de succès.

Le son du clavioline vous est-il familier ? Ce ne serait pas surprenant, car l'instrument était relativement connu dans la musique pop, même si ce n'était pas le but premier de Martin. Il est conçu comme un instrument d'accompagnement. Ses timbres sont bien ceux appréciés à l'époque. Mais ce ne sont pas les possibilités de combinaisons de boutons qui rendent l'instrument si attractif. C'est plutôt la possibilité, en tant que musicien, de créer ses propres sons. Voilà ce qui a rendu son usage contagieux ! C'est aussi ce qui a conduit à l'utilisation du clavioline dans la musique pop, principalement dans les années 1960.

Deux chansons se distinguent particulièrement : Telstar des Tornados (1962) et Baby, you're a rich man des Beatles (1967). Dans "Telstar",  la mélodie principale (jouée par le clavioline) s'imprime profondément dans notre mémoire. Dans "Baby, you're a rich man", le clavioline imite un shehnai (hautbois indien) et ses sons alternent avec la voix. La chanson est parue sur la face B du single "All you need is love". Selon le journaliste rock Gordon Reid, c'est grâce au clavioline que cette chanson est devenue célèbre : "c'est pour les expériences de John Lennon sur le clavioline qu'on se souvient le mieux, avec une histoire apocryphe qui suggère que c'est en roulant une orange sur le clavier qu'il créa son gémissement devenu si célèbre"[1]

Que le clavioline ait été joué dans la chanson Telstar n'est pas si surprenant. Le titre de la chanson fait référence au satellite "Telstar". Il s'agit du premier satellite de communication lancé par les Américains, qui devait (entre autre) assurer la transmission transatlantique d'images TV en direct. Dans cet esprit d'exploration technologique, le clavioline ne pouvait être absent d'un genre musical en plein développement : les musiques pop et rock.

Si le clavioline n'est utilisé qu'occasionnellement par les Tornados, ce n'est pas le cas du groupe néerlandais The Hurricane Strings. Tout comme les Tornados, ce groupe voit le jour au début des années 1960, jouant de la musique instrumentale.  Mais chez les Hurricane Strings, la clavioline fait partie de l'ensemble des instruments fixes. Il est d'ailleurs présent sur de nombreuses photos officielles du groupe (voir photo 6). C'est aussi le cas avec le groupe les Maylegends, dont Byron Elwell est le clavioliniste. Ce dernier enregistre le morceau qui suit après avoir entendu Telstar (et le clavioline) : "Ça m'a époustouflé quand je l'ai entendu pour la première fois... Ça ressemblait à quelque chose entre un chat qui pleure et un clavier déformé. Je me suis dit que je devais créer ce son[2]. " 

Une petite anecdote complète l'histoire des Tornados. Le guitariste du groupe, George Bellamy, est le père de Matthew Bellamy, leader du groupe rock Muse. Le son de guitare de sa chanson Knights of Cydonia (2006) fait directement référence à la clavioline de Telstar. Et la structure de Knights of Cydonia peut être comparée à Ridin' the Wind (1963) des Tornados, une chanson écrite par George Bellamy.

La clavioline était cependant déjà connu bien avant les Tornados. En 1953, on peut déjà l'entendre dans Little Red Monkey de Frank Chacksfield, ainsi que dans la trilogie de science-fiction Journey into Space de la BBC. En 1954, l'instrument apparaît même dans la production de Bollywood Nagin, dans la mélodie du charmeur de serpent man dole mera tan dole mere dil ka gaya karar. Il est également utilisé dans Microcosmos (pour clavioline, guitare, scie musicale, vibraphone et xylophone, percussion et piano ; 1957) du japonais Toshiro Mayuzumi, ainsi que dans Runaway et Hats Off to Larry de Del Shannon (1961). Dans cette dernière production, signalons toutefois qu'il s'agit d'un clavioline radicalement modifié par le musicien Max Crook, qui dénomme son instrument 'Musitron' . Enfin - et nous sommes déjà dans la seconde moitié des années 1960 - mentionnons les albums The Magic City (1966), The Heliocentric Worlds of Sun Ra - Volume Two (1966) et Atlantis (1967) du jazzman Sun Ra.

Malgré les qualités sonores exceptionnelles du clavioline, son avenir ne sera pas aussi brillant qu'on aurait pu le croire. Ceci est en grande partie lié au développement et à la commercialisation des premiers synthétiseurs dans la seconde moitié des années 1960, en particulier ceux produits par Robert Moog.


[1] https://www.soundonsound.com/reviews/story-clavioline

[2] https://medium.com/collectors-weekly/the-otherworldly-sounds-of-the-clavioline-from-musical-saw-to-wailing-cat-26d0969e5605

 

Bibliographie

Ben Marks, The Otherworldly Sounds of the Clavioline, from Musical Saw to Wailing Cat, in Collector's Weekly: https://medium.com/collectors-weekly/the-otherworldly-sounds-of-the-clavioline-from-musical-saw-to-wailing-cat-26d0969e5605

Constant Martin, La musique électronique, Paris, 1950.

G.H. Hillier, The Clavioline, in Electronic Engineering, vol. 24, nr. 296, 1952, p. 454-5.

Gordon Reid, The Story of the Clavioline, 2007, in Sound on Sound: https://www.soundonsound.com/reviews/story-clavioline.

Brevet d'invention, nr. 946.629, publié le 9 juin 1949.

Media
Images: 
Clavioline, Selmer, Paris, 1949, inv. 2018.0134
Genouillère et boutons de registre, Clavioline, Selmer, Paris, 1949, 2018.0134
Genouillères de transposition, Clavioline, Selmer, Paris, 1949, inv. 2018.0134
Fine tuners, Clavioline, Selmer, Paris, 1949, inv. 2018.0134
Table de jeux, Selmer London (source: http://www.chestnutbankproductions.co.uk)
The Hurricane Strings (source: http://manzerock.blogspot.com)

PrintMail this page

Clavioline

electrophone

The clavioline is a monophonic electronic musical instrument. Invented by the French engineer Constant Martin (1910-1995) in the 1940s, it is considered one of the precursors of the synthesizer.

After his engineering studies, Martin focused on the development and marketing of radio receivers. He also experimented with electronically generated sounds. These experiments led, in the early 1940s, to the construction of electronic bells and organ. They were heard from the tower of the Versailles city hall during the liberation in 1944.

Martin's most important achievement, however, is the clavioline. On May 3, 1947, he filed a patent application with the French Ministry of Industry and Commerce for an "electronic musical instrument", alias the clavioline. The patent (No. 946.629), granted on December 27, 1948, was published on June 9, 1949. By then, Selmer must already have been a privileged partner since the patent showed the image of a Selmer keyboard. Later, Martin had the instrument built by other licensed companies. In addition to Selmer in Paris (Société Le Clavioline) and London (Selmer London), keyboards were also  manufactured in the United States (Gibson Standard Model), Germany ("Bode Clavioline", "Tuttivox" and "Jorgenson Clavioline") and Italy ("Ondiola"), all based on the Martin patent. This common practice at the time helped the instrument gain popularity. In 1949 Martin also built a prototype of the "keyboard duophone", an instrument capable of playing two notes at the same time. However, this model was never commercialized. 

The clavioline consists of two parts (see fig. 1): the keyboard with sound generator and control panel and the tube amplifier with loudspeaker. These two parts are connected by a cable. Underneath the keyboard is a knee switch that adjusts the volume (see fig. 2), nicknamed "the soul of the keyboard" in a Selmer London sales catalogue. Initially, the keyboard had to be fixed under the keyboard of a (grand) piano. The musician's right knee can adjust the volume (see video), but experienced musicians master the technique so well that they also manage to obtain staccato effects. The clavioline can also be fixed on a stand, even if this system is not as stable in all brands.

The keyboard has a series of 36 keys (3 octaves), from F to E''''. An additional octave can be added on the bass and treble side, which brings the instrument to 5 octaves. This is possible by moving one of the two small levers located under the mark to the left (bass) or to the right (Ontreble) (see fig. 3). Small potentiometers on the sides allow a fine adjustment of the instrument (see fig. 4).

On the frontside, the instrument has 18 buttons ('register buttons') (see fig. 2). 14 are used to modify the sound. They are numbered from 1 to 9 and completed by the 4 filter coils O, A, B and V, and P (Percussion/Attack). The other 4 buttons (vibrato I-III and amplitude+) enable to change the vibrato. Figure 5 shows a scheme proposed by Selmer, for imitating the timbres of the best-known acoustic instruments.

The basic sound (timbre) of the keyboard, i.e. the one produced when no buttons are pressed - is graphically presented as a trapezoidal wave, similar to a square wave). The "trumpet" register is based on this sound, supplemented by an additional vibrato (see fig. 5). The other sounds/timbres are based on this basic sound, modified by the application of high-pass and low-pass filtering. But what makes the sound of the keyboard so unique and difficult to imitate on contemporary synthesizers is the amplifier. Selmer states: "The amplifier is of an unusual type in that a large amount of distortion is deliberately obtained. This distortion is used to further modify the signal and contributes significantly to the construction of the original sound. The amplifier is therefore an integral part of the instrument”.

The mim has two claviolines, with inventory numbers 1995.033 and 2018.0134. The first one, presented in the galleries, is not playable. It was built by Le Clavioline (Type CM, series 1, n° 768). The second, acquired in 2018 (2018.0134), was restored by Daniel Kitzig and is a Selmer Type A -'Auditorium' Selmer keyboard with serial number 450, made in London. The auditorium model is the standard Selmer model. It was followed later by the Selmer Clavioline Concert. At the end of 1962, Selmer also launched a Concert Reverb model. Despite the little extra of reverberation, this model was not very succesful.

Does the sound of the clavioline sound familiar to you? This would not be surprising, as the instrument was relatively well known in pop music, even if that was not Martin's primary purpose. It is designed as an accompanying instrument, its timbres are the ones appreciated at the time. But it is not the possibility of stops combinations that makes the instrument so attractive. It is rather the possibility, for musicians, to create one’s own sounds. That is what made its use contagious! This is also the reason for the use of the clavioline in pop music, mainly in the 1960s.

Two songs stand out in particular: Telstar by the Tornados (1962) and Baby, you're a rich man by the Beatles (1967). In Telstar, the main melody (played by the clavioline) is deeply imprinted in our memory. In Baby, you're a rich man, the clavioline imitates a shehnai (Indian oboe) and it alternates with the voice. The song was released on the B side of the single All you need is love. According to rock journalist Gordon Reid, it was the clavioline that made this song famous: 'John Lennon's experiments on the keyboard are best remembered, with an apocryphal story suggesting that it was by rolling an orange on the keyboard that he created his moaning, now so famous'[1]

That the clavioline was played in the song Telstar is not surprising. The title of the song refers to the satellite with the same name. This is the first communication satellite launched by the Americans, which had (among other things) to provide transatlantic transmission of live TV images. In this spirit of technological exploration, the clavioline could not be absent from the musical genres in full development: pop and rock music.

An anecdote completes the history of the Tornados. The band's guitarist, George Bellamy, is the father of Matthew Bellamy, leader of the rock group Muse. The guitar sound of Muses' song Knights of Cydonia(2006) refers directly to Telstar's keyboard. And the structure of Knights of Cydonia can be compared to Ridin' the Wind (1963) by the Tornados, a song written by George Bellamy.

If the clavioline is used only occasionally by the Tornados, this is not the case with the Dutch group The Hurricane Strings. Like the Tornados, this group was formed in the early 1960s, and they played instrumental music. But for Hurricane Strings, the clavioline is part of the set of fixed instruments. It is also present in many official photos of the group (see fig. 7). The same is the case with the Maylegends group, of which Byron Elwell is the clavioline player. The latter said after hearing Telstar (and the clavioline): 'It blew my mind when I first heard it.... It sounded like something between a crying cat and a distorted keyboard. I thought I should create this sound['2].

However, the clavioline was already known long before the Tornados. In 1953, it could already be heard in Frank Chacksfield's Little Red Monkey, as well as in the BBC's science fiction trilogy Journey into Space. In 1954, the instrument even appeared in the Bollywood Nagin production, in the melody of the snake charmer man dole mera tan dole mere dil ka gaya karar. It is also used in Microcosmos (for clavioline, guitar, musical saw, vibraphone and xylophone, percussion and piano, 1957) by the Japanese musician Toshiro Mayuzumi, as well as in Runaway and Hats Off to Larry by Del Shannon (1961). In this last production, however, it should be noted that it is a clavioline radically modified by the musician Max Crook, who calls his instrument "Musitron". Finally - and we are already in the second half of the 1960s - we mention the albums The Magic City (1966), The Heliocentric Worlds of Sun Ra - Volume Two (1966) and Atlantis (1967) by jazzman Sun Ra.

Despite the clavioline's exceptional sound qualities, its future will not be as bright as one might have thought. This is largely related to the development and commercialization of the first synthesizers in the second half of the 1960s, particularly those produced by Robert Moog.

 

 


[1] https://www.soundonsound.com/reviews/story-clavioline

[2] https://medium.com/collectors-weekly/the-otherworldly-sounds-of-the-clavioline-from-musical-saw-to-wailing-cat-26d0969e5605

 

Bibliography

Ben Marks, The Otherworldly Sounds of the Clavioline, from Musical Saw to Wailing Cat, in Collector's Weekly: https://medium.com/collectors-weekly/the-otherworldly-sounds-of-the-clavioline-from-musical-saw-to-wailing-cat-26d0969e5605

Constant Martin, La musique électronique, Paris, 1950.

G.H. Hillier, The Clavioline, in Electronic Engineering, vol. 24, nr. 296, 1952, p. 454-5.

Gordon Reid, The Story of the Clavioline, 2007, in Sound on Sound: https://www.soundonsound.com/reviews/story-clavioline.

Brevet d'invention, nr. 946.629, published on June 9, 1949.

Media
Images: 
Clavioline, Selmer, Paris, 1949, inv. 2018.0134
Kneestop and stop button, Clavioline, Selmer, Paris, 1949, inv. 2018.0134
Transposition’s kneestop, Clavioline, Selmer, Paris, 1949, inv. 2018.0134
Fine tuners, Clavioline, Selmer, Paris, 1949, inv. 2018.0134
Table of stops, Selmer London (source: http://www.chestnutbankproductions.co.uk)
The Hurricane Strings (source: http://manzerock.blogspot.com)